Cameras I’m coveting

I know I say this a lot but I’m making it a serious goal to get back into photo. Film photography has really stolen my heart so I’ve been looking for one that can get me back into the swing of these. I fell down the rabbit hole of camera reviews on YouTube and found DigitalRev TV and Kai W. They talk about digital as well as analog but you know which videos I picked. They explain everything in a way that is so easy to digest and they’re editing is beautiful.

I currently own a Minolta Maxxum 500si that has some auto functions like autofocus and the Canon ae-1 that is fully manual. The Canon is like my ol’ reliable and I’ve only used the Minolta a bit but I can’t wait to get more use out of it. One of my favorite cameras to shoot on are disposables for how unpredictable they are but since buying a new one every time I need to shoot isn’t cost effective I wanted a simple point and shoot that could deliver similar shots. That’s when I found the Canon AF35ML.

canon-af35ml-1

Isn’t it adorable? I love it for how… shitty it is. I mean that in an endearing way of course. It’s made with awful plastic, has a blinding flash and you have no control over anything except the ISO. Just point, and shoot! They’re fairly cheap, around $50, but they produce images with that dream like quality I want. There is absolutely no way to tell if you successfully got your subject in focus or if it’s properly lit but that’s half the fun. I found it in this video.

I recently discovered that there’s a long, lost Ritz Camera about 20 minutes from my house! A sign on the door said film development begins at $5.99 if you’re a member. For only $10 you get that deal plus 20% off products… you damn right I got that membership. Surprisingly they can only develop color film at the moment but that’s alright with me.

Every time I think about shooting with this I get tingly.

I'd love to read what you have to say :D

