Amazing mentors


I remember always being told that having a mentor can be one of the best things you could do for yourself. Mentors can help open doors to opportunities or give you that push to achieve your goals. It can be hard to find them, but I think I’ve been blessed with several mentors in my life so far.

I’ve found mentors in employers, counselors and teachers/professors. At times it may seem unlikely but there are still people that truly care about their students and want to see them succeed. To this day I can still call my high school counselor for advice, she’s my go-to when I need someone to be straight up and not sugar coat. She doesn’t accept my laziness lol. The art director who gave me my first internship will always be in my life because of how much she has done for me. Then there’s the internship coordinator at my community college that got me an internship at a Smithsonian. I actually visited him yesterday and after about 4 years he still remembers my whole name and even bits about my life.

These people and others weren’t just mentors to me, they even became a part of my family. They were shoulders to cry on when I was unsure or ones I could grab a coffee with just to talk about life. 

If you’re looking for a mentor, find someone you admire and just talk. Set up a time to get coffee or meet in their office. Counselors are great because it’s their job to help. It can be anyone that will genuinely help you succeed. Mentors came make such a difference if you need help to get to a goal or if you’re just unsure about what to do next. 

Always be on the lookout, you may already know one.

I'd love to read what you have to say :D

